## **Call for Nominations for**

## **CHA Prizes and Awards**

The CHA announces its annual Macdonald, Ferguson and Neatby Prizes,
Regional History Certificates of Merit and the first annual Ph.D. Prize which will be awarded at the
Annual Meeting in Kingston, Ontario to be held June 2-5, 1991.

The Sir John A. Macdonald Prize, which consists of a \$2,000 cash award, is for the non-fiction work of Canadian history "judged to have made the most significant contribution to an understanding of the Canadian past". Those wishing to submit works with a 1990 imprint should forward one copy of each entry to each judge by January 15, 1991.

- Professor Reginald Whitaker
   Department of Political Science
   York University
   North York, Ontario M3J IP3
- Professor Neil Mckinnon
   Department of History
   St. Francis Xavier University
   Antigonish, Nova Scotia B2G 1CO
- Professeur André Lachance Département d'histoire Université de Sherbrooke Shebrooke, Québec J1K 2R1
- Professeure Bettina Bradbury Département d'histoire Université de Montréal C.P. 6128 - Succ. A Montréal, Québec H3C 3J7
- Professor Graeme Wynn (Chair)
   Department of Geography
   University of British Columbia
   Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 1W5

The Wallace K. Ferguson Prize, also worth \$2,000, will be awarded to a Canadian citizen or Canadian immigrant who has published an outstanding scholarly book in a field of history OTHER THAN CANADIAN HISTORY during the past year. Those wishing to submit works with a 1990 imprint should send two copies to the chairman, and one copy each to the other three judges by January 1, 1991:

- Professor Richard Helmstadter Department of History University of Toronto Toronto, Ontario M5S 1A1
- Professeur Gilles Vandal Département d'histoire Université de Sherbrooke Sherbrooke, Québec J1K 2R1
- Professor Graeme Wynn (Chair)
   Department of Geography
   University of British Columbia
   Vancouver, British Columbia V6T 1W5

The Hilda Neatby Prize in Women's History, is awarded for an academic article published in Canada during 1990 and deemed to make an original and scholarly contribution to the field of women's history. Send nominations, and 8 copies of the nominated article, before March 1,1991 to Professor Judith Fingard, Department of History, Dalhousie University, Halifax, Nova Scotia B3H 3J5.

The Certificates of Merit for Regional History are given annually for meritorious publications, or for exceptional contributions by individuals or organizations to regional history. Nominations and supporting documentation for candidates who have made contributions to regional history should be submitted by December 1, 1990 to the appropriate regional representatives. Those representatives are:

- Atlantic Canada:
   Professor Don MacGillivray
   Department of History
   University College of Cape Breton
   Box 5300
   Sydney, Cape Breton B1P 6L2.
- Quebec:
   Professeur René Hardy
   Département d'histoire
   Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
   Trois-Rivières, Québec G9A 5H7.
- Ontario:
   Professor Chad Gaffield Department of History University of Ottawa Ottawa, Ontario K1N 6N5.
- The Prairies and Northwest Territories: Professor Donald B. Smith Department of History University of Calgary Calgary, Alberta T2N 1N4.
- British Columbia and The Yukon: Professor Robert A.J. McDonald Department of History University of British Columbia Vancouver, B.C. V6T 1W5.

The CHA announces its PRIZES FOR PhD DISSERTATIONS. At their November 1989 meeting, the CHA Council approved two new annual prizes: One for the best doctoral dissertation in Canadian history or a related field and one for the best doctoral dissertation in non-Canadian history or related field. The prize in each category will be \$500 plus travel allowance to the annual meeting where it will be awarded. Theses completed and officially accepted by a Canadian university between October 1st and September 30th will be eligible for the award to be given at the CHA Annual Meeting following. Deadline for submissions for the prize Is October 31, 1990. Candidates should submit: one copy of the dissertation with permission to make copies for jury perusal; a two page summary of the dissertation; a letter from their Faculty of Graduate Studies attesting that the dissertation has been accepted; and a letter of presentation from their department. (If more than one dissertation is submitted in any one year from a single department, the department will be asked to rank them.) Send submissions to: Dissertation Prize Committee, CHA, 395 Wellington Street, Ottawa, ON, K1A ON3. There will be one jury of three members for each prize. The winning dissertation will be chosen on the basis of originality, methodology, scholarly competence and style. Juries have the option of not awarding any prize. If there are less than three submissions for the prize in any year, they will be considered in the following round.