CHA Annual Meeting, Université du Québec à Montréal, 25-27 August 1995

In a departure from its normal practice of gathering with the Learned Societies, the Canadian Historical Association will instead hold its 1995 meeting in Montreal from 25 to 27 August. This is because in 1995 the CHA will also host the 18th International Congress of Historical Sciences in Montreal From 27 August to 3 September. CHA members are thereby afforded the unique opportunity to attend not only their own association's annual conference but also the International Congress, which meets every five years. Some 3000 historians from around the world are expected to be in attendance at the Montreal meeting of the Congress, which marks only the second time it has met outside Europe.

Members and friends of the CHA are invited to submit proposals for papers and sessions for its 1995 meetings. Proposals can be **in any field of history or on any related theme or problem**. Themes of special interest to the committee, however, are those in world history, the physical environment, the Second World War, and modern Quebec.

The program committee **encourages proposals from all ranks of scholars**, from those entering the profession to those who have already made distinguished contributions to it. Participation is especially encouraged on the part of those whose fields are other than Canadian history.

The program committee strongly encourages CHA members to **make suggestions and submit proposals for complete sessions, and possible discussion themes and panels, as well as individual papers**; equally, it encourages CHA sub-groups to sponsor and develop sessions, to suggest chairs and commentators, etc.

Ideas for proposals may be communicated to any member of the program committee, but the final proposal must be submitted to the committee chairperson. All proposals must include a one page abstract, and a one page <u>curriculum vitae</u>.

The deadline for receipt of all proposals is 31 October, 1994.

The members of the 1995 program committee are:

A.B. McKillop (Chair, Carleton University); Kerry Abel (Carleton University); Albert Desbiens (Université du Québec à Montréal); Claire Dolan (Université Laval); Nadia Fahmy-Eid (Université du Québec à Montréal); Marc Lagana (Université du Québec à Montréal); James Leith (Queen's University); Sonya Lipsett-Rivera (Carleton University); Ian McKay (Queen's University); Suzanne Morton (McGill University); Tamara Myers (Graduate Student Representative, McGill University); John Taylor (Carleton University).

Contact: A.B. McKillop, Canadian Historical Association, 395 Wellington St., Ottawa ON K1A 0N3. (613) 233-7885 FAX (613) 567-3110.