## News from the Departments – Follow-up Nouvelles des departments - Suite

McGill University. Brian Lewis is the Chair (2002-2005) and Leonard Moore is Graduate Director. Promotions: Elizabeth Digeser was promoted to associate professor and Nancy Partner was promoted to professor. Elizabeth Elbourne received the Wallace K. Ferguson Prize for *Blood Ground*: Colonialism. Missions and the Contest for Christianity in Britain and the Eastern Cape, 1799-1855. James Delbourgo was awarded an Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Fellow. Desmond Morton received the Larry Sefton Award for Contributions to Industrial Relations. Robin Yates received a Killam Research Fellowship and Brian Young was awarded the Prix Histoire – Gérard Parizeau. **Appointments:** Lorenz Lüthi (International relations) and Daviken Studnicki-Gizbert (World history). Limited term appointments: Griet Vankeerberghen (Chinese history). Anticipated appointments 2004-2005: History of Quebec, Early Modern Europe, Early Modern Britain, Roman History and Ancient Greek History). Retirements: Philip Longworth. Leaves: Carman Miller and Robin Yates full year sabbatical leave; John Hellman one term sabbatical leave. **Obituary:** Anne Farmakides. Numbers of Professors: increase.

Université de Montréal. Claude Morin est le directeur du département (2001-2005). Promotions : Pierre Bonnechere a été promu au rang de professeur titulaire. Distinctions depuis le 1er novembre 2002) : Serge Lusignan, boursier Killam; Pierre Bonnechere, prix d'excellence en enseignement à la Faculté des sciences et des arts (avril 2003). Embauches: Richard Westall (Rome antique), juin 2002; François Furstenberg (États-Unis avant 1865), juin 2003; Cynthia Milton (Amérique latine), janvier 2004). Embauches prévues : Canada-Québec et le monde. Professeur invité : Carlos G. Garcia MacGaw en 2003-2004. Retraites: Jean-Marie Loncol (août 2003). Nécrologie: Nicolas Oikonomides (mai 2002). Congés: Claude Morin (demi-sab., 2004), Jacques Perreault (demi-sab., 2003), Yakov Rabkin (demisab., 2003), Jacques Rouillard (sab., 2003-2004). Nombre de professeurs : de 1998 à 2000, le département est passé de 28 à 24 postes par attrition. Il a recommencé à embaucher en juin 2000 en vue d'atteindre 29 postes en 2005. Il compte présentement 28 postes occupés.

Okanagan University College. Ben Wilson is the Chair (2002-2005). Appointments: Chris Clarkson (BC-Canada). Limited term appointments: one (Canada). Anticipated appointments: one (United States\Latin America). Retirements: one. Leaves: Maurice Williams (study, 2004-2005). Numbers of Professors: stable.

**St. Jerome's University.** Ken McLaughlin is the acting Chair. **Anticipated appointments:** we will be hiring. **Leaves:** Jim Wahl (sabbatical), Winter 2005. **Obituary:** Gerald Stortz (Nov., 23, 2003).

St. Thomas University. Rusty Bittermann is the Chair (until July 2005). Sheila Andrew won the University Award for excellence in teaching. Appointments: Sheila Andrew (Africa), 2003; Michael Dawson (Canada), 2004; Fikrv Gebrekidan (Europe), 2004. Retirements: John Jennings. Leaves: Rusty Bitermann (half-sabbatical), January 2004. Numbers of Professors: increase.

## University of British Columbia, Educational Studies.

Mona Gleason has received the award for the best article in the two years, 2001-2002, from the Society for the History of Children and Youth for "Disciplining the Student Body: Schooling and the Construction of Canadian Children's Bodies, 1930 to 1960", History of Education Quarterly 41, 2 (Spring 2001). William (Bill) Bruneau has been appointed to the editorial board of History of Education Quarterly for the period 2003-2006. He has also accepted an appointment to the international editorial team of the Collected Papers of Bertrand Russell, a 35-volume project for he will be responsible for papers on social and educational questions. Retirements: meanwhile, as of 1 September 2003, William Bruneau has retired early after several decades of teaching, research, and services at UBC. Leaves: Nikki Strong-Boag has received a Senior Killam Scholarship for 2003-2005, as well as a SSHRC Research Grant for 2003-2006.

University of Northern British Columbia. Gordon Martel is the Chair (1996-2004) and Ted Binnema is Graduate Director. Appointments: Jacqueline Holler (Latin America; Gender). Limited term appointments: Rhonda Semple (South Asia; Gender). Anticipated appointments: none. Leaves: Gordon Martel (sabbatical, 2004-2005). Numbers of Professors: same.

University of Western Ontario. J.J.B. Forster is the Chair (until June 30, 2004) and Roger Hall is Graduate Director. **Promotions:** Pierre-Claude Reynard was promoted to the rank of Associate professor. **Appointments:** Eona Karakacili, Shelley McKellar and Robert Wardhaugh. **Retirements:** I.K. Steele, D.H. Avery and I. Soranaka. **Leaves:** Margaret Kellow (sabbatical), July 2002-June 2003; Luz Maria Hernandez-Saenz (sabbatical), July 2003-June 2004. **Numbers of Professors:** increase.