NEWS FROM THE DEPARTMENTS / NOUVELLES DES DÉPARTEMENTS Follow-up / Suite

Augustana University College: Petr Miresovsky is the Chair (2003-2004). Appointments: Mélanie Méthot.

Brock University: Carmela Patrias is the Chair (2003-2006). Appointments: Bonny Ibhawoh (African History), Mark Spencer (American History), Gilliam McGillivray (Latin America), Joanne Wright (Women's History & Intellectual History). Limited appointments: David Bright (Canadian History), Niel Kennedy (American History) and Rasana Barbosa (Latin American History). Leave: David Schimmelpenninck (July 2003-July 2004)

Memorial University of Newfoundland: Chris Youé is the Chair (2003-2006). Shannon Ryan is the Graduate Director. Appointment: Stephan Curtis (European Social History). Limited appointments: Michael O'Brien (Military/Naval History) and Jeff Webb (Aboriginal/Ethnic History). Retirements: David Facey-Crowther (August 2003); Thomas Evans' (August 2003) and Bill Reeves (December 2003). Leaves: W.J.C. Cherwinski (sabbatical 2002); C. English (sabbatical 2003); V. Burton, L. Dawe and R. Sweeny (sabbatical Fall 2003); A. den Otter and R. Panjabi (sabbatical Winter 2004). Jim Hiller received the Clio Prize for 2003 (Atlantic Region); Gerhard Bassler, Honorary Research Professor and Professor Emeritus; Malcolm MacLeod an Honorary Research Professor; Sean Cadigan and Jeff Webb received a SSHRC funding for *Atlantic Canada Studies Conference* (May 2003).

Royal Military College of Canada: Michael Hennessy is the Chair (2003-2006). Graduate Director: Brian McKercher. Received promotions: François Gendron, Professeur titulaire et Roch Legault, professeur agrégé. Leaves: Jean Lamarre (sabbatical July 2003-July 2004) and Jane Errington (sabbatical January - July 2004). Obituaries: George F.G. Stanley, Professor Emeritus, Colonel, The Honourable, OC, CD,kStJ, FRHist, Frsc.

Saint Mary's University: Michael Vance is the Chair (2001-2004). Tim Stretton is the Graduate Director and an Associate Professor. Nicole Neatby appointed Canadian Bicentennial Professor for the 2004-2005 academic year at Yale University. Retirement: G.F. Young (June 2004). Appointment: Rosana Nunes (Latin America/US). Leaves: Elizabeth Haigh (sabbatical January - June 2004) and Richard Twomey (sabbatical September 2004-June 2005).

University of Alberta: Lesley Cormack is the Chair (2003-2008). David Johnson is the Graduate Director. Obituary: William Rae Samson. Appointments: Andrew Ede (Science and Technology) and John Harris (Greek Literature). Awards: J. Gordin Kaplan Award for excellence in research to Dr. David Marples; Martha Cook Piper Research Prize to Dr. Andrew Gow; Izaak Walton Killam Professorship to Dr. Helena Fracchia; Woman of the Year, University of Alberta went to Dr. Patricia Prestwich; University of Alberta, Faculty of Arts Research Award for Full Professors, Dr. John-Paul Himka; SSHRC Reserach Grants to: Sean Gouglas, Rod Macleod, Steven Hijmans, Francis Landry, David Marples and Guy Thompson; Canada Foundation for Innovation went to Sean Gouglas in collaboration with Stéfan Sinclair and Harvey Quamen. There was an increase in 2003 of the number of Professors.