NEWS FROM THE DEPARTMENTS / NOUVELLES DES DÉPARTEMENTS

Dalhousie University: Cynthia Neville is the Chair (2003-2006). Philip Zachernuk is the Graduate Director. Shirley Tillotson, Associate Dean received a University Administrative Position. Retirement: David Sutherland. Appointment: Todd McCallum (Canadian). Limited term appointments: Timothy Lewis (Canadian) and Labeeb Bsoul (Middle East). Anticipated appointments: Modern Middle East and Canadian. Invited Professors (2004-2005): Daniel Maudlin (University of Glasgow), Susan Weill (Texas State University. Leave: John O'Brien (sabbatical 2004). Numbers of Professors: increase.

McMaster University: Virginia H. Aksan is the Chair (2003-2008). Michael Gauvreau is the Graduate Director. Associate Professor: Pamela Swett and Ken Cruikshank received a University Administrative Position. J.C. Weaver received the Wallace K. Ferguson prize and the North American Conference on British Studies award. Obituary: Harry E. Turner. Appointments: Assistant Professors: Juanita DeBarros (Atlantic World), Tracy McDonald (Russian/Soviet) and L.R. Wilson (Canadian History). Limited term appointments: David Leeson (Modern Britain) and Daniel Azoulav (Canada and US). Anticipated appointments (2005-2006): Asia/Africa, Early Modern Continental European Social/Cultural and Science and Technology. Invited Professor: Isabel Hull Hooker, Cornell University (Nov. 2004). On leaves: B. Kaczynski (July/04 -December/04), S. Heathorn (July/04-June 2005), S. Streeter (January/June 2005), D. Wright (January/June 2005) and K. Balcom (July/04-June/05). Numbers of Professors: increase.

Queen's University: Richard Greenfield is the Chair (2003-2008). The Graduate Director is Robert Shenton. Jamey Carson received a University Administrative Position. Retirement: Robert Malcolmson. Obituary: Richard Pierce. Appointment: Jeffrey Collins (Early Modern Britain). Limited Term appointment: Andrew Jainchill (Early Modern Europe/French Revolution). Anticipated appointments: Medieval History, United States and South Asian History. Invited Professor: Adnan Husain (Medieval History). On leave: Roseanne Currarino (July/04-June/05) and Anthony d'Elia (January/05-June/05). Numbers of Professors: Stable.

University of British Columbia (Educational Studies): Veronica Strong-Boag has had her Killam Senior Research Fellowship renewed for 2004-05. Jean Barman won a Canadian Historical Association Clio Award and the Lieutenant Governor's Medal awarded by the BC Historical Federation.

University of British Columbia: David Breen is the Chair. The Graduate Director is Glen Peterson. Retirement: Alex Woodside. Obituary: Stephen Straker (July 2004). Appointments: Robert Brain and Paige Raibmon. Limited term appointment: Dianne Newell (Dir., Peter Wall Institute for Advanced Studies). Anticipated appointments: European, First Nations, Canadian. On leave: Leslie Paris (July/04-June/05) and Joy Dixon (July/04-June/05). Numbers of Professors: increase.

University of Calgary: David Marshall is the Chair (2001-2006). Retirement: Tim Travers. Appointment: Frank Towers (United States). Limited term appointment: Alexander Hill (Military). Leaves: Sarah Carter and Doug Francis, Holger Herwig, Hendrik Kraay and Mark Konnert are on sabbaticals. Numbers of Professors: Decrease.

University of Guelph: Terry Crowley is the Chair (2003-2008). Catharine Wilson is Graduate Director (2004-2005). Doug McCalla is Canada Research Chair in Rural History (2001-2008). Femi Kolapo, Jacqueline Murray, Elizabeth Ewan and Alan Gordon received a SSHRC research grant. Kevin James received research grants from the Ireland-Canada University Foundation and the University of Ulster. Karen Racine has been awarded a scholarship to study at the John Carter Brown Library at Brown University in 2005. Keith Cassidy received the first University of Guelph Faculty Association Lifetime Achievement Award. Kris Inwood (Economics) has received approval to expand and complete the Canadian Foundation for Innovation project at Guelph for digitizing the 1891 Canadian Census. Terry Crowley is University of Guelph SSHRC representative and received a Clio Award, Sir John A. Macdonald Prize (Honourable Mention), and Floyd Chalmers Award of the Champlain Society for his book Marriage of Minds: Isabel and Oscar Skelton Reinventing Canada. Retirement: James Snell (Jan. 2005) Appointments: Catherine Carstairs (Canadian), Susannah Humble Ferreira (Medieval/Early Modern Europe), Sofie Lachapelle (History of Science), Alan McDougall (Modern Europe/European Studies), Susan Nance (American), Norman Smith (China/women's Studies). Graeme Morton of the University of Edinburgh was appointed professor and first Scottish Studies Foundation Chair (2004-2010). Limited term appointment: Stephanie Bangarth (Canadian). Leaves: Elizabeth Ewan (Sabbatical 2005), Linda Mahood (sabbatical 2004), Donna Andrew (SSHRC release 2004), and Peter Goddard (sabbatical 2004-2005). Conferences: the department annually presents a Scottish Studies Conference, hosts the Tri-University History Conference, the Canadian Economic History Conference and the Canadian Association of Latin American and Caribbean Studies Conference.

University of Waterloo: Kenneth McLaughin is acting Chair (July 2004-January 2005). The Graduate Director and University Research Chair is W.L. Mitchinson. Retirement: S.K. Johannesen. Obituary: G.J. Stortz. Appointment: P.W. Lackenbauer (Canadian). Anticipated appointment: American/trans-national. Numbers of Professors: decreased.