## Canadian Historical Association • Société historique du Canada

# ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING CANADIAN HISTORICAL ASSOCIATION Held at the University of Saskatchewan 29 May 2007

- 1. Margaret Conrad called the meeting to Order
- Minute of silence to honour deceased members John Webster Grant, Richard Arthur Preston, James Taylor, John Thomas, Sydney Wise, Douglas Wurtele and Elizabeth Chard
- 3. Adoption of the Agenda Proposed by Lyle Dick, seconded by Suzanne Morton
- 4. Adoption of the minutes of last meeting Proposed by Greg Kealy, seconded by Bill Waiser
- 5. President's Report

The report is tabled. Among the points raised: 1- Digitization strategy; 2- CHA Journal; 3- new Booklets; 4- question in 2006 and 2011 censuses regarding access to data. Tina Loo will be in charge for the 2008 meeting at the University of British Columbia. Thanks also to Council members who are leaving: Pierre Lanthier, Steven Lee, Joan Sangster and John Willis Thanks again to Joanne Mineault and Marielle Campeau for their good work.

#### 6. Treasurer's Report

- Not much to report
- Small deficit expected

Audit not quite ready because of government changes in reporting for non profit organization Tammy Bastarache has agreed to let her name stand as the auditor of the CHA. Motion proposed by David Moorman, seconded by Jean Martin, to approve the nomination of Tammy Bastarache as auditor. Adopted.

Craig Heron brings to the attention of the members the necessity to increase individual membership fees by \$5.00 starting with the year 2008. The fee increase is to cover a general increase in CHA expenses but more specifically because of a charge of \$2.00 per member levied by Erudit to gain access to the two year window on-line *Journal of the CHA*. Motion proposed by David Moorman, seconded by Lyle Dick, to raise membership fees by \$5.00, for all individual members except the students, to cover the \$2.00 charge levied by Erudit, to allow access to the last two years of the *Journal*. Unanimous.

#### 7. SSHRC's Presentation

Chad Gaffield, President of SSHRC Long period of transition, followed by a promising new start Emphasis on relations with research community Three keywords: quality, connections, impact

## 8. LAC's Presentation

Doug Rimmer, ADM at Library and Archives Canada, talks about recent developments and future projects at LAC. Backlog with ATIP still minimal Problem of access to expertise for researchers New Website will be launched soon Forum on Canadian Democracy next fall

- 9. Report of the Nominating Committee
  - Report is presented by Nicole Neatby
  - 7 positions to be filled
  - The committee will present suggestions for future procedures
  - Motion presented by N. Neatby, seconded by Greg Kealy, to accept the report of the Nominating Committee. Adopted.

## 10. Election Results

- The new elected members of the Council are:
- Michèle Dagenais (Université de Montréal)
- Elisabeth Jameson (University of Calgary)
- Tina Loo (University of British Columbia)
- Alexandra Mosquin (Parks Canada)
- The new elected members of the Nominating Committee are:
- Colin Coates (Glendon College, York University)
- Adele Perry (University of Manitoba)

### 11. Other Business

Motion proposed by Margaret Conrad, seconded by Craig Heron, to thank Bill Waiser, his staff (Tony Arkles, Brendan Kelly, Lawrence Toews, students Catherine Ulmer, Sean Irwin, Heather LeGars, Kevin Gamble, Valerie Korinek and Alice Glaze) and the Department of History at the University of Saskatchewan for the organization of this year AGM. Adopted

#### 12. Adjournment

Proposed by Alexandra Mosquin, seconded by John Willis.

